Home > SEO > I think SEO might be a scam

I think SEO might be a scam

Like many other bloggers and website owners, I subscribe to several RSS feeds that provide various SEO tips and tricks. I do it because, like a surgeon, I want to be up on the latest techniques. But the whole thing is starting to turn me off, and I’m ready to unsubscribe from all of them.

Here’s the problem.

I’ve found that most sites that provide SEO or online marketing tips are very thin on content, or have the same content as other sites. I can find a hundred sites that tell you how to optimize your meta tags or tell you how to be a good guest blogger. They post once or maybe twice a week, and it’s the same generic posts that an autogenerator could write.

Why is that a problem?

Because they’re running two or three other similar sites where they also post once or twice a week. So instead of posting three times a week on one blog (3×1), they can maximize their income by posting once a week on three blogs (1×3) because three blogs plastered with affiliate ads make more money than one. They almost meet the definition of “made for Adsense” sites, don’t they?

It just reeks of money-making sleaze, while the readers desperate for content keep getting strung along. I don’t know how many bloggers have more than one blog, but I’ll bet the number of “SEO” or “marketing” bloggers that have multiple blogs outnumbers the rest. With software like WordPress, it’s easier than ever to perpetrate this scam.

The biggest issue is that I can’t figure out how to apply that generic content to my non-generic site. Until I find a “SEO” site that gives specific advice, I’m tentatively writing off the entire industry.

I swear, one of these days I’m going to write a “SEO Post Generator” in PHP or VB, to show how easy it is to write something that targets a large audience. I guarantee it will pass the Turing test. At the very least, there should be a “online marketer” drinking game where some use could be made out of all the fluff. Take a drink if:

  • You see the word “blog” or any form of it (blogger, blogging, etc) more than five times in one post
  • A “blogging tools” links post
  • A post that tells you what you “should” be doing as a blogger (i.e. “Are you making the most out of your blogging opportunities?”)
  • A generic “issues” post such as “how to make money blogging” with the requisite links to money making sites with very little description of what they’re about.

So now I’m in this weird place where I see this going on with one or two sites, and it starts turning me off to every other SEO blog as well, even the ones I know are good. I see the same things on all of them: the very generic content (intended to generate as much traffic/sales as possible by painting a very large target with a broad brush), the scare tactics (i.e. “if you don’t use SEO, you’ll be at the bottom of every Google search!”), and especially the post titles which themselves are SEO-optimized to attract clicks (“How to make a fortune blogging”, “75 Tips for Blogging Success”, etc).

Even this article itself could be accused of many of the same things. It’s actually pretty generic. Ugh, now I’m disgusted with myself.

Categories: SEO Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

